DCU Memorial Scholarship Ceremony takes place on the All Hallows Campus

Memorial scholarships are an important part of how the DCU community remembers our past students, staff and friends who played an important role in the life of the university.

Each year, DCU Educational Trust honours those remembered through memorial scholarships by celebrating their life and legacy at DCU Educational Trust’s annual Service of Remembrance and Memorial Scholarships Presentation Ceremony. This year’s event, which took place on 7th March on DCU’s All Hallows Campus, was a welcome return to an in-person event following a virtual ceremony in 2021 due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

At the event, 23 students received a Memorial scholarship created in memory of some of the University’s most cherished past students, staff and friends. This year, two new memorial scholarships were created in memory of Maureen O’Farrell and Joseph Anthony Lynch:

  • The Maureen O’Farrell Memorial Scholarship was established by her family to honour her memory and passion for education by supporting a DCU Access student in their studies.
  • The Joseph Anthony Lynch Memorial Sports Scholarship was created in memory of Cork native, Joseph Anthony “Tony” Lynch by his friends in the US to remember his love of Ireland and Irish sport.

The 23 students receiving this year’s scholarships were selected based on different criteria, depending on the wishes of those who created the scholarship and include undergraduate students supported by DCU’s Access Programme, postgraduate students in the fields of Biotechnology, Marketing and Journalism, and students who have achieved outstanding results in DCU’s BA in Jazz and Contemporary Music Performance.

One scholarship, the Paddy Wright Memorial Scholarship, also supports a Senior Dublin Gaelic Footballer. This year’s recipient, Jennifer Dunne, has been a member of Dublin’s Senior Women’s Football team since 2018, and has won a Lidl National League Division One title, two Leinster and three All-Ireland medals with the Senior Dublin Ladies Football team. This is Jennifer’s second year of receiving the Paddy Wright Memorial Scholarship.

Speaking at this year’s Memorial Scholarship Presentation Ceremony, Joe Quinsey, CEO of DCU Educational Trust, commented:

“It is a pleasure to be able to gather in-person once again, and to enable our scholarship supporters to meet with the talented students who will carry on their loved one’s legacy as memorial scholarship recipients. This is always a special event in the university calendar, which combines remembrance of our past students, staff and friends with a celebration of life and the promise of our students. We are sincerely grateful to the families and donors who support these life-changing scholarships that enable DCU students to fulfil their potential and go forward to make their own mark on society in the future.”


The full list of Memorial Scholarship recipients for 2021/22 includes:

  • The TJ O’Driscoll Memorial Scholarship – Adam Morgan
  • The Paddy J Wright Memorial Scholarship – Piercia Pomah, Fidan Alsafadi, Katie Ann Boyle, Antonio Neto, Alex Nic Diac, Lee Forrester Morris, Jennifer Dunne
  • The Ger McDonnell Memorial Scholarship – Eve Elizabeth Devey
  • The Aidan P McDonnell Memorial Scholarship – Rebecca Mc Manamon
  • The Volkswagen Stephen Moran Memorial Scholarship – Erika Duggan
  • The Frank Durkan Memorial Scholarship – April Lavelle
  • The Teresa Twohill Memorial Scholarship – Chione Fitih
  • The Charles J Haughey Memorial Scholarship – Dean Ennis and Darragh Farrelly
  • The Nicola Radford Memorial Scholarship – Ellie Barron
  • The John Thompson Memorial Scholarship – Emma Mitchell
  • The Orla Benson Memorial Scholarship – Yongda Li
  • The Dr Tim Mahony Memorial Scholarship – Luca Eremita Mcarlde
  • Stephen Moran Music Memorial Scholarship – Sarah Moore
  • Joseph Anthony Lynch Memorial Sports Scholarship – Ryan Smith
  • Maureen O’Farrell Memorial Scholarship – Victoria Babela
  • James Downey Memorial Prize – Patrick O’Donoghue