47 Scholarships Awarded at A Celebration of Memorial and Endowed Scholarships at DCU

On Wednesday 15th November, 47 students received scholarship awards at an event on DCU’s Glasnevin Campus.

This annual event in the DCU calendar honours past students, staff and friends of DCU who are remembered through memorial scholarships, as well as celebrating those who support future generations of DCU students through endowed scholarships.

30 students received a memorial scholarship created in memory of some of the University’s most cherished past students, staff and friends. This year, two new memorial scholarship were awarded for the first time.

The Hough and Lydon Family Memorial Scholarship was established by DCU alumni PJ Hough and Mar Lydon in memory of their deceased family members. This scholarship was created to provide an Access scholarship for an undergraduate student in the School of Computing.

The Ray Comiskey Memorial Scholarship was presented for the first time to the highest placed final year student of Jazz Performance. Ray Comiskey (1937-2019) was a well-known Irish Times journalist who was renowned for his writing about arts and culture, and in particular about jazz. Through his writings and engagement with the national and international arts community, he supported established and emerging musicians alike, with characteristic open-mindedness to different musical approaches. This prize and a specially-commissioned medal were awarded in Ray’s memory by his wife Anne-Marie.

A further 16 students were awarded DCU’s endowed scholarships and ICON scholarships, generously created by friends and supporters of the university. The Susan and Harry Hartford Access PhD Scholarship was also awarded at the event. This scholarship is DCU’s first fully funded Access PhD scholarship, and will support the recipient, Hannan Galeb, to pursue doctoral research that makes an impact.

The students receiving this year’s scholarships were selected based on different criteria, depending on the wishes of those who created the scholarship. These include undergraduate students supported by DCU’s Access Programme, postgraduate students in the fields of Biotechnology, Accounting, Law and Journalism, and students with outstanding sporting achievements.

Speaking at the event, Joe Quinsey, CEO of DCU Educational Trust, commented:

“We are delighted to celebrate the students who receive memorial and endowed scholarships today, and to honour those who created those scholarships, and our friends and loved ones who are remembered through them. The talent and promise of these students is truly a source of great hope for the future.”


The DCU Memorial Scholarship recipients for 2023/24 are:

The Orla Benson Memorial Scholarship – Grace Colley

The Ray Comiskey Memorial Scholarship in Jazz – Gustavo De Morais

The Colm Delves Memorial Scholarship – Alya Al Fahdi

The Frank Durkan Memorial Scholarship – Ali Ahmad

The Hough and Lydon Family Memorial Scholarship – Quamdeen Timson

The Veronica Guerin Memorial Scholarship – Liam Coates, Erin Murphy

Charles J Haughey Memorial Scholarship – Faruq Aloba, Aicha Halfaoui

Joseph Anthony Lynch Memorial Sports Scholarship – Peter Grogan

Aidan P McDonnell Memorial Scholarship – Lucy Sweeney

Ger McDonnell Memorial Scholarship – Senan Fee

Stephen Moran Music Memorial Scholarship – Bianca Lucaci

The Volkswagen Stephen Moran Memorial Scholarship – Wojciech Karatysz

The Paddy Moriarty Memorial Scholarship – Federica Fazio

The TJ O’Driscoll Memorial Scholarship – Glen Bonnie, Anastacia Caraman, Jason Carroll, Fatimah Guetar, Risikat Sulaimon,

Maureen O’Farrell Memorial Scholarship – Tegan D’Arcy

The Feargal Quinn Memorial Scholarship – Adam McLoughlin

The Teresa Twohill Memorial Scholarship – Megan Lyons

The Paddy J Wright Memorial Scholarship – Erin Brennan, Reece Cox, Aoife Hyland, Boon Chin Look, Conor O’Kelly, Caroline Rawlings

The Paddy J Wright Sport Memorial Scholarship – Chloe Darby


The DCU Endowed Scholarship recipients for 2023/24 are:

The Endowed Alumni Scholarship Fund – Benedicta Foudjour

The Endowed Deloitte Access Scholarship Fund – Vicky Maher

The Endowed Colm and Paula Delves Access Scholarship – Laeeq Ur Rehman

The Endowed Irish Public Bodies Access Scholarship Fund – Aine Oladunjoye

The Endowed Frank Keane BMW Access Scholarship Fund – Aalif Mostofa

The Endowed Paul Kerley Access Scholarship Fund – Rebecca Gannon

The Endowed Leo Mohan Access Scholarship Fund – Aoife Murray

The Endowed Marianna O’Dwyer Access Scholarship Fund – Ruth Alimi

The Endowed Larry and Pauline Quinn Access Scholarship Fund – Caitlin Farrell Harte, Leanora Magjypi

The Sinéad Strain Goldman Sachs STEM Scholarship – Samantha Sharpe

The Endowed Ulster Bank Access Scholarship Fund – Najim Abdallah, Courtney Brennan, Joanna Ozougwu


ICON Access Scholarships were awarded to:

Kyle O’Neill

Reina Ubaldo


The Susan and Harry Hartford Access PhD Scholarship was awarded to:

Hannan Galeb

Interested in Supporting Excellence and Opportunity?